Apr 16, 2014; Detroit, MI, USA; Cleveland Indians center fielder Michael Bourn (24) makes a catch of a ball hit by Detroit Tigers third baseman Nick Castellanos (not pictured) in the fourth inning at Comerica Park. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

MLB Changes Rule that Cost Indians a Game Earlier This Season

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

 

Major League Baseball is a slow moving group. They are a cruise ship trying to turn around: it takes a long time for any movement. Yet as the season’s first month comes to an end MLB has already changed a rule that had cost the Cleveland Indians a game earlier this season. Much like the Calvin Johnson catch no catch issue in the NFL, baseball has struggled with the related to transfer of a caught ball. Now, according to Ken Rosenthal of Fox Sports, baseball is interpreting the rule differently:

Starting Friday night, umpires will rule on catches the way they did in the past, using more of a common-sense approach rather than following the letter of the law, according to major-league sources.

A catch, forceout or tag will be considered legal if a fielder has control of the ball in his glove, but drops the ball after opening his glove to transfer the ball to his throwing hard, sources said. No longer will the fielder be required to successfully get the ball into his throwing hand.

So basically a catch is a catch if the player, you know, catches the ball. They don’t also have to catch the ball with their bare hand to have actually caught the ball. One catch is now enough for MLB. Lets take a look at the play that impacted the Indians:

Got to love Tom Hamilton‘s passion for this team.

Should the Indians feel vindicated? Are you shocked that MLB actually made changes this quickly given their glacial pace of changes in the past?

 

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Cleveland Indians Mlb

comments powered by Disqus