Indians: Jose Ramirez edges out two others and takes home postseason award

The first award of the Indians postseason went to Jose Ramirez of

Jose Ramirez got a big shiny new award from the local chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Each of the 30 teams has its own quorum of writers that vote for team-specific awards. For the Indians (soon to be Guardians) one of those awards is the Cleveland edition of the Man of the Year Award, known in Cleveland as the Bob Feller Man of the Year award. It’s for the player that usually makes the biggest impact on and off the field. The 2021 winner was, no shock to anyone, Ramirez.

Ramirez played 152 games, with offensive splits of .266/.355/.538 and an OPS of .893. Ramirez also finished the year with 147 hits, 111 runs, 32 doubles, five triples, 36 home runs (73 XBH), 107 RBIs, 27 stolen bases, and only 87 strikeouts.

The other candidates for the award were rookie Emmanuel Clase, who made a strong case for AL Rookie of the Year, and new top-line starter; Cal Quantrill.

Jose Ramirez wasn’t the only 2021 Award Winner for the Indians

Two other award winners were selected by the Cleveland BBWAA as well. Interim manager DeMarlo Hale won the Frank Gibbons-Steve Olin Good Guy Award. While the Man of the Year was more about what a guy did on the field, the Good Guy Award reflects a person’s character off of it. Since Hale had to step in and replace an ailing Terry Francona and largely kept the Indians respectable in Francona’s absence, Hale made for a strong pick. Backup catcher Austin Hedges and Indians’ President Chris Antonetti were also candidates for that award as well.

The other award given out by the Cleveland BBWAA was the John Krepop Special Achievement Award, given posthumously to Matt Loede, who was a long-time member of the Cleveland Indians’ press box who passed away in 2021.

For Ramirez, the award season is just beginning. He was named a finalist for the 2021 AL Silver Slugger Award for third base, and he’s likely to finish in the Top 5 for the AL MVP voting. Clase should get votes for the AL Rookie of the Year award, while Quantrill may finish in the Top 5 or so for the AL Cy Young award.